Account

  • How do I change my location?

    There are different answers depending on which location you are referring to.

    The location of posts you see on the main posts page is based on the groups you are a member of and your post settings. You can add and remove groups on the Groups page at any time. And you can change your post settings using the post options on the Settings page.

    If you're trying to change the location description that shows up on your posts, you can only change this for new posts. Every time you post, there is a Location text field on the New Post page that controls the location description that will show up on your post.

    If you're trying to change the location displayed on the map that goes with your post, simply click the link next to the map that is labelled "Wrong location?" to correct the location. This will only update the map display and so it should only be done when the map doesn't match the location described in the text of the post.

  • How do I change my password?

    If you're logged in, you can change your password on the Settings page.

    If you are unable to login, see how to reset your password

  • How do I change my profile picture?

    You can change your profile picture on the Settings page.

  • How do I change which posts I see?

    You can change which posts you see by updating your post options on the Settings page. To get the most control, you should enable the option labelled "Only show posts that are near me" and then set the distance to match the local area you want.

  • How do I create an email alert?
    1. Go to the main posts page
    2. Use the search option at the top of the page to search for the item that you are looking for (1-3 keywords work best).
    3. Then click the Save Alert button that shows up.
    4. Finally, select the types of posts you want to be alerted about (Offers and/or Requests) and click the "Save" button.
  • How do I enable push notifications?

    You can enable push notifications in the Notifications section of the Settings page.

    If you're using the website with a browser that supports notifications, you will find the push notification settings under the "Browser Notifications" section.

    If you're using the iOS or Android app, you will find the push notification settings under the "Push Notifications" section.

    Please note that push notifications require a compatible browser and/or device. For example, if you're using an iPhone or iPad then push notifications are only available if you use the trash nothing iOS app.

  • How do I get to the Settings page?

    The following link will take you to the Settings page on the web site.

    In the Android or the iOS app, open the Account menu that is at the top right of most pages and then click the link labelled "Settings" to open the Settings page.

  • How do I join?

    Go to the sign up page and follow the instructions there.

    If you'd like to sign up without a Facebook, Google, Microsoft or Yahoo account, you can click the link below the large white buttons that is labelled "create a new account".

  • How do I leave feedback?

    You can leave feedback on another person by following the directions below:

    1. Go to the messages page and open the conversation with the person you want to leave feedback on.

    2. Click on their profile image at the top of the conversation

    3. Click the Leave Feedback button

  • How do I log out?

    To log out, go to the main posts page and open the account dropdown menu by clicking the person icon near the top right of the page. Then select the log out option.

  • How do I remove my account?

    You can remove your account using the option at the bottom of the Settings page.

  • How do I use my existing membership account with trash nothing?

    Existing accounts from other sites such as Yahoo Groups, Freecycle or Freegle Direct can't be reused with trash nothing because all the sites are run by separate organizations and there is no method of transferring account data from one site to another. But it only takes a minute to create a new trash nothing account and you can remove your account at any time.

  • How does feedback work?

    The feedback information you see on other members has two parts - a feedback score and a positive feedback percentage. If you've used eBay before, then you'll probably be familiar with how these work.

    The feedback score is the count of all positive feedback a member has received minus the count of all negative feedback a member has received. A positive score means that a member has received more positive feedback than negative feedback. And a negative feedback score means that a member has received more negative feedback. So higher scores are better.

    The positive feedback percentage shows what percent of the feedback a member has received in the last year was positive. This gives a better understanding of the data that makes up the feedback score and provides a good summary of the more recent feedback a member has received. If a member hasn't received any feedback in the last year, then no positive feedback percentage will be shown.

    The feedback system was only launched in 2020 so there are many members (both long time and new members) who won't have any feedback shown.

  • I forgot my password and can't login, how do I reset it?

    If you are sure you have an account on trash nothing, you can automatically request a new password be emailed to you.

    If you only have an account on Yahoo Groups or on the Freegle site, you'll need to create a new account before you can use trash nothing with your local groups.

    Note: If you signed up using a Google, Yahoo, Microsoft or Facebook account, you can login without a password by simply clicking one of the large white buttons near the top of the login page.

  • I haven't received the verification email after signing up.

    The verification email can take a minute or two to be delivered. If you can't find it in your email account or spam folder after a couple of minutes, try to log in and you will be given the option to resend the email.

    If you have a Facebook, Yahoo, Google or Microsoft account, you can verify your email account by simply clicking the corresponding large white button at the top of the sign up page or the log in page.

  • What is my feedback score?

    If you have a feedback score, it will be displayed on your posts and on your public profile. You can view your public profile at any time on the Settings page by clicking the link labelled "View Public Profile" that is shown in the Profile section.

    Don't worry if you don't see a feedback score on your public profile. The feedback system was only launched in 2020 so there are many members (both long time and new members) who won't don't yet have feedback scores.

  • What is my username and how do I change it?

    Your username is the unique identifier that shows up on all your posts. It is automatically created for you based on the username of the email address that you sign up with. If you need to change your username (for privacy reasons or if it isn't family friendly), you can use the username change request form to view and change your username.